AI too passive

We’ve moved over to the paradox forums. Please come visit us there to discuss:
You can still read the collective wisdom - and lolz - of the community here, but posting is no longer possible.

Home Forums Age of Wonders 3 Discussions AI too passive

This topic contains 47 replies, has 24 voices, and was last updated by  overlorddarkslash 6 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 48 total)
  • Author

Hey everyone,

I’m fairly new to Age of Wonders 3. The game contents and design of the game are top notch and I’ve really enjoyed playing this against a friend of mine.

However, as we can’t always find time to play, I have started to play against the AI (AI Lord) and have been quite disappointed.

I don’t have the DLCs yet and am undecided right now for the below reasons…

The tactical AI does a good job, from what I’ve noticed. It also does well in building up it’s cities and armies and in clearing out areas around it’s cities. However, the AI is just too passive overall and is not challenging.

The AI, typically, just seems to stay in, and around, it’s cities, only occasionally venturing off and capturing towns. I also have yet to see it build a city of it’s own (although I can’t confirm that). In my latest game, I have had two to three times more cities than the AI by the time I meet them.

What’s more, when at war, it doesn’t come to attack you, even when it has a large force to do so; it simply sits in it’s cities and waits for you. This is incredibly easy to defeat as you can simply pick off cities one by one.

I have to say I am completely let down by this. Everything is there for the AI to work well except it just doesn’t expand or attack. It understands how to group units together and attack with multiple armies. In the scenarios that I have played, where things are scripted, it will attack and do so well, with large forces. However, when it’s not scripted, it just doesn’t seem to attack.